Street Use Inspections

Permit Counter Temporary Closures

To protect the health and safety of our staff and customers, and to help mitigate the impact of COVID-19, we closed our public-facing customer service counters on Monday, March 16. We expect to reopen our counters Monday morning, May 4, but will continue to evaluate this timeline as the outbreak evolves. This includes both the Street Use and the Traffic and Parking permit counters at the Seattle Municipal Tower on floors 23 and 37.

For construction use in the right-of-way and street improvement permits, please e-mail your completed application to SDOTPermits@seattle.gov.

For major utility permits, please e-mail your completed application to SDOTUtilPermits@Seattle.gov and be sure to use the subject line: Permit#_ProjAddress – UMP New Application / Modification Application

For all other permits, please apply online through the Seattle Services Portal.

Our staff will be available to provide application coaching and assist with issuing permits by phone.

Street Use Permit Counter: 206-684-5253

  • Monday, Wednesday, Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Thursday: 10:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Traffic and Parking Permit Counter: 206-684-5086

  • Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

What We Do

Street Use inspectors are responsible for enforcing the right-of-way rules and regulations of the City of Seattle, including the permit conditions. This is to ensure that all construction, safety, and accessibility requirements of the permit are met as approved. All inspections are billed at an hourly rate.

Inspectors both proactively inspect project sites and respond to inquiries from the traveling public. Simple projects and right-of-way uses (such as moving containers and dumpsters) are only inspected if a problem warrants it, while more complex projects fall into a routine inspection schedule.

The inspection schedule for complex projects is as follows:

  1. Initial inspection: To ensure traffic-control and stormwater best management practices are set up correctly, and to review the project at the very start.
  2. Periodic site inspections: To ensure that all work is staying in compliance with the terms of the permit. The periodic inspection schedule varies in association with the possible impacts to the transportation network and surrounding land use.
        • Every 10 days for arterials, high-impact areas, or urban villages
        • Every 20 days for low-impact areas
  3. Final inspection: To ensure that the street and sidewalk are clear, and that all infrastructure is properly repaired.
  4. Acceptance inspection: To ensure that any restoration is functioning and without defect.

Program Goals

The Street Use inspections team seeks to:

  • Ensure that work permitted for the right of way is done in accordance with the terms of issued permits
  • Identify unpermitted work taking place in the right of way and take action to either halt the work or bring it under permit

Inspection Districts and Assigned Inspectors

The Inspection Districts map shows the various inspection districts within Seattle, along with the name of the inspector assigned to each district. In addition to assigned district inspectors that primarily focus on use of the right of way, we also have street improvement inspectors who inspect new infrastructure being built in the right of way. These inspectors work closely with the district inspectors, but are assigned on a project-by- project basis.

For general questions about Street Use inspections, please call the Street Use permit counter at 206-684-5253.

Click the inspection map to open a larger, printable version. 

Inspection district map with names of the inspectors

Inspections Manager
VACANT
North and West Central Supervisor
Jon Skinner
jonathan.skinner@seattle.gov
cell: 206-255-0494
desk: 206-684-5277
        East Central and South Supervisor
David Ryles
david.ryles@seattle.gov
cell: 206-255-2043
desk: 206-684-8565

West Central Districts Lead
Danny Young
danny.young@seattle.gov
cell: 205-255-2043
desk: 206-684-6967

Magnolia and
Queen Anne Inspector
Horton Young
horton.young@seattle.gov
206-316-7304

South Lake Union Inspector
Kyle Abrahamson
kyle.abrahamson@seattle.gov
206-472-3899

Belltown Inspector
Damon Siguenza (temporary)
damon.siguenza@seattle.gov
206-379-2227

Downtown Inspector
Damon Siguenza
damon.siguenza@seattle.gov
206-379-2227
with
Andy Octavo
andy.octavo@seattle.gov
206-512-9836

    

North Districts Lead
Kirk Calkins (temporary)
kirk.calkins@seattle.gov
206-255-0494


North District Inspector
Sandra Petersen
sandra.petersen@seattle.gov
206-615-0897


Greenlake Inspector
Patrick Neimuth
patrick.neimuth@seattle.gov
206-305-3092

Northeast Inspector
Dawn Steel
dawn.steel@seattle.gov
206-549-1367

Ballard Inspector
Kirk Calkins
kirk.calkins@seattle.gov
206-684-5272

North Lake Union Inspector
Bill Miller
williamm.miller@seattle.gov
206-549-1331

       

South Districts Lead
Dennis Stewart
dennis.stewart@seattle.gov
206-386-9881

West Seattle Inspector
Allison Holtz
allison.holtz@seattle.gov
206-485-5273

Delridge Inspector
Ali Bermani
ali.bermani@seattle.gov
206-258-1946

Duwamish Inspector
Ade Adeleke
ade.adeleke@seattle.gov
206-305-2653

South Seattle District Inspector
Kepueli Moimoi
kepueli.moimoi@seattle.gov
206-455-4816

    

East Central Districts Lead
Ted Malveaux
edward.malveaux@seattle.gov
206-681-6967

West Capitol Hill Inspector
Bryan Harris
bryan.harris@seattle.gov
206-473-1854

Central Capitol Hill Inspector
Jessica Crosetto
jessica.crosetto@seattle.gov
206-445-8774

East Capitol Hill Inspector
Saan Saelee
saan.saelee@seattle.gov
206-775-4395

University District Inspector
Daniel Conn
daniel.conn@seattle.gov
206-305-6971

Rainier Inspector
Mila Cobian
milagros.cobian@seattle.gov
206-947-9852

So You Want To...

All inspections are billed at an hourly rate and will be based on the time spent on the project site. The current hourly inspection rate is listed on the Street Use permit fee schedule.

Please note that working in the right of way without a permit covering all needed uses of public space may result in issuance of warnings, citations (with monetary penalties), and/ or stop-work orders.

If you would like to report a concern or request an inspection of construction activity in the right of way, please use the City of Seattle Customer Service Bureau (CSB) service request form, or contact a CSB representative at 206-684-ROAD.

To notify SDOT of a time sensitive safety-related issue please call our 24-hour dispatch office at 206-386-1218

If you would like to learn more about City of Seattle right-of-way codes and rules you may want to start with the following links:

Additional information and tools to help you plan specific types of projects in the right of way can be found on our permit templates and checklists page.