Community Task Force

Updated December 8, 2021


The West Seattle Bridge Community Task Force ensures the many voices and concerns of the community are not only heard, but consistently advocated for.  

We took care to select members from all over West Seattle and the Duwamish Valley, including neighborhood groups from the Junction to Georgetown to South Park to Highland Park to SODO. The group is also comprised of elected officials, West Seattle businesses, and industrial and maritime businesses and their workers.   

Members help ensure transparency, clear communication, and broad community engagement and understanding around both traffic mitigation efforts and the future path forward for the West Seattle High-Rise Bridge as we address new data, public input, fiscal challenges, and many other important factors that will inform the West Seattle Bridge Program.  


The Community Task Force is holding one meeting each month in 2021. Upcoming meeting: 

Thursday, December 9 from 4 to 6 p.m. 

Watch all the meetings, including past meetings on this YouTube channel.

Confirmed Task Force members 

  • Paulina Lopez, Co-chair, Duwamish River Cleanup Coalition 
  • Greg Nickels, Co-chair, 51st Mayor of Seattle 
  • Charlie Able, JuNO (Junction Neighborhood Organization) and EAJ (East Alaska Junction Neighborhood Organization)
  • Dan Austin, business owner, Peel and Press, West Seattle Chamber of Commerce boardmember 
  • Deb Barker, West Seattle Transportation Coalition Boardmember 
  • Tommy Bauer, Office of US Senator Maria Cantwell, ex officio member 
  • David Bestock, Delridge Neighborhoods Development Association, Youngstown Cultural Arts 
  • Ken Bowden, Nucor Steel, West Seattle Chamber of Commerce Boardmember 
  • Todd Carden, Elliott Bay Brewery & Pub 
  • Marci Carpenter, National Federation of the Blind Washington Chapter, charter member and former chair of Transit Advisory Board
  • Eileen Cody, Washington State Representative 34th Legislative District, ex officio member 
  • Shayna Daitch, Office of US Senator Patty Murray, ex officio member 
  • Colleen Desmond, neighborhood advocate  
  • Katie Garrow, Deputy Executive Secretary, Martin Luther King, Jr County Labor Council 
  • Peter Goldman, Washington Environmental Council Boardmember 
  • Erin Goodman, SODO Business Improvement Association  
  • Jolene Haas, Duwamish Long House and Cultural Center Director  
  • Anne Higuera, Ventana Construction, West Seattle Chamber of Commerce 
  • Jill Mackie, Senior Vice-President, Vigor Shipyard 
  • Tim McConnell, West Seattle Runner 
  • John Persak, Georgetown Community Council 
  • Lora Radford, West Seattle Junction Business Improvement Association (BIA) 
  • Greg Ramirez, Georgetown Community Council 
  • Bob Watters, SSA Marine, Harbor Island 
  • Joe Nguyen, Washington State Senator 34th Legislative District, ex officio member 
  • Joe Fitzgibbon, Washington State Representative 34th Legislative District, ex officio member 
  • Joe McDermott, King County Council Vice Chair, ex officio member 
  • Lisa Herbold, Seattle City Councilmember, ex officio member 
  • Diane Sosne, SEIU, health care workers, Admiral District
  • Peter Steinbrueck, Port of Seattle Commissioner, former City of Seattle Council Member, ex officio member 
  • Liz Powell, West Seattle Bridge Now
  • Alex Pedersen, Seattle City Councilmember District 4; Chair, Transportation and Utilities Committee, alternate and ex officio member 
  • Marielle Trumbauer, Outreach Coordinator and Grants Specialist for US House Representative Pramila Jayapal (7th District), ex officio member 
  • Shannon Braddock, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of King County Executive Dow Constantine, ex officio member 
  • David Mosely, Deputy Mayor, City of Seattle, ex officio member 
  • Alex Stone, District Representative for US House Representative Adam Smith (9th District), ex officio member