Anadromous Fish Committee (AFC)


Chinook in Cedar River

The Anadromous Fish Committee (AFC) serves in an advisory capacity to the four agencies that signed the Landsburg Mitigation Agreement (LMA) (US Fish and Wildlife Service, National Marine Fisheries Service, Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife and the City of Seattle).

Members of the AFC include representatives of the signatory Parties to the LMA, the Muckleshoot Indian Tribe, and stakeholders representing sport fishing and environmental interests. A representative from King County also participates in the committee meetings.

The committee also provides advice and consultation to the City concerning the implementation of the (LMA), and serves as a forum for coordination and communication among the members of technical information on the status and condition of anadromous fish stocks in the Cedar River and the implementation and oversight of interim and long-term mitigation measures for these species.

The LMA is to implement biologically sound measures that help provide for the recovery and persistence of healthy, harvestable runs of sockeye, coho, and chinook salmon and steelhead trout in the Cedar River. The LMA commits the City to long-term measures to help restore anadromous fish runs and mitigate for the blockage at Landsburg Dam. This includes fish passage for coho, chinook, and steelhead; artificial production facilities as alternative mitigation to passage for sockeye; various research and monitoring activities and habitat restoration below Landsburg Dam.

Contact Information

Michele Koehler
Aquatic Resources & HCP Program Manager
Phone: (206) 733-9447

Carol Volk
Aquatic Resources Strategic Advisor
Phone: (206) 386-1990

About the Oversight Groups

The legal agreements implementing the HCP has established three oversight groups.

They are the Instream Flow Commission (IFC), the Anadromous Fish Committee (AFC), and the HCP Oversight Committee (OC).

These committees are comprised of individuals who represent the agencies that are party to the three legal agreements of the HCP; other interests agencies; and stakeholder groups.