Marriage Ceremonies

Seattle Municipal Court Judges are empowered under Washington State Law to perform marriage ceremonies.

Get Married at Seattle Municipal Court

To request a marriage ceremony by a judge:

  • Complete and submit a Marriage Ceremony Request. Please submit no earlier than 8 weeks prior to your preferred ceremony date.
  • Marriage ceremonies are performed Monday through Friday, with a check-in time of 4:30 p.m.
  • There is a fee associated with the ceremony (see below).
  • Photos may be taken at the courthouse 30 minutes prior to check-in and during the ceremony.
  • The judge cannot accommodate time for photos after the ceremony.
  • The court is closed on weekends and holidays.
  • Judges may be available to perform marriages at other locations selected by the couple, including weekends and holidays. Additional fees may apply.
  • Wedding parties, including the couple, guests and witnesses, should not consume alcohol or use drugs before a wedding ceremony at the courthouse. At his/her discretion, the judge may decline to perform a ceremony if the couple, guests and/or witnesses are deemed impaired.

What You Need to Bring

  1. Marriage License: Seattle Municipal Court does not provide the marriage license. Marriage licenses are issued by the King County Recorder's Office
    • Please note: Washington State law requires a three-day waiting period before a marriage license can be used. Licenses are valid for 60 days.
  2. Fees: We only accept cash. Please bring exact change.
  3. Two Witnesses: Witnesses must be 18 or older.
    • Seattle Municipal Court DOES NOT provide witnesses.

For weddings at the courthouse, we prefer wedding parties of no more than 16 people total including the couple getting married.

Marriage Ceremony Fees

The ceremony fee is set by the judge. To inquire about the fee or for scheduling, please contact our Judicial Assistant.


Email: Judicial Assistant
Phone: (206) 684-8709