Certification Testing

Latest News for 2021

  • Alternative Extinguishing Systems Certification Card Holders - starting July 1, 2021, you will be required by state law to hold NAFED certification. Technicians with E-1, E-2, E-3 and E-4 certifications will need to present the appropriate NAFED/ICC certification at the time of testing or renewal beginning in June. Learn more here
  • New Regional Confidence Testing Forms for Fire Alarm, Sprinkler and Range Hood Systems - as of January 2021, Seattle along with roughly 10 other jurisdictions in King County are using shared, standard forms. Please see the letter from the Fire Marshal
  • HB 2701 Smoke Control Systems and Dampers - there are several issues that pose barriers to implementation and enforcement. SFD will continue to enforce Chapter 9 and other provisions on qualifications, testing, and maintenance. The Washington State Association of Fire Marshals (WSAFM) is working with the State Building Code Council and stakeholders from private industry and building managers/owners to provide updated language that can be implemented. To join the working group, please contact Jon Napier at jon.napier@pugetsoundfire.org.

A certification is required if you install, maintain, service or test fire and life safety systems in the city. Please refer to Administrative Rule 9.01 for the specific requirements.

Examinations are administered based on the study information packet. The packet contains:

  • Exam dates and times
  • How to schedule an exam
  • Resources about fire and life safety issues
  • Study material bibliographies

Review this document for information about the types of certification exams.

Exam $444 per examination - required once every three (3) years
Renewal No charge - requires annual renewal
Replacement Card $60 per card 

You can pay certification fees by check (payable to the City of Seattle) or credit card. Pay over the phone at (206) 386-1450 or securely and conveniently online.

To schedule an exam:

Note: If you receive the recorded message, please follow the instructions. If you wish to receive a confirmation call, please request one in the message. 

You may schedule up to two exams. Re-tests will not be administered on the same day as the original test; a separate appointment must be made. 

Temporarily expanded testing hours are:

Monday 1 - 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday 7:30 - 10 a.m.

Wednesday 2 - 4 p.m.


220 3rd Avenue South, 2nd floor

Seattle, WA 98104-2608

Since July 1, 2018, state law requires technicians working on fire alarm systems to hold a NICET II certification to perform all inspection, testing, maintenance and programming not defined as "electrical construction trade" by Chapter 19.28 RCW. Beginning July 1, 2019, the state and SFD will also accept Electronic Security Association/National Testing School Certified Fire Technician Level II (ESA/NTS CFAT II). All technicians seeking to receive or renew the City of Seattle FA-1 and FA-ITM certifications must demonstrate that they have the NICET II or ESA/NTS CFAT II.

Electricians solely performing installation of wiring or performing other work on fire alarm systems consistent with the meaning of "electrical construction trade" in Chapter 19.28 RCW do not require an FA-1 or FA-ITM certification to work in Seattle.