Mayors, 1890-1948

The Freeholders Charter of 1890 changed the term of office for the Mayor to two years and made the incumbent ineligible for re-election until after the lapse of two years. Elections were held on the first Monday in March. The two-year term was maintained under a new Freeholders' Charter of 1896, but the restriction on re-election was removed. Elections were changed to the Tuesday following the first Monday in March. A Charter Amendment passed by the voters on March 8, 1910, established non-partisan nominations and elections for all City elective offices. In 1921 the State Legislature established elections on the first Tuesday following the first Monday in May. Two years later, the elections were moved back to the second Tuesday in March.

 White Hall   Ronald
Harry White
Term Began 10/14/1890
White was elected under the Freeholder’s Charter of 1890. He resigned November 30, 1891
George Hall
Term Began 12/9/1891
Hall was appointed by the Council to fill the remainder of White’s term.
James T. Ronald
Term Began 3/31/1892
 Phelps  Black Wood 
Byron Phelps
Term Began 3/19/1894
Frank D. Black
Term Began 3/16/1896
Black resigned after three weeks in office. A contemporary historian says Black was nominated, elected, and installed over his protests.
W.D. Wood
Term Began 4/6/1896
Wood was appointed to fill the unexpired term, but subsequently left the City to take part in the Klondike Gold Rush.
Humes   Ballinger Moore 
Thomas J. Humes
Term Began 11/19/1897,3/21/1898, 3/19/1900, and 3/17/1902
Humes was elected by City Council on the 65th ballot to fill the unexpired term.
Richard A. Ballinger
Term Began 3/21/1904
William Hickman Moore
Term Began 3/19/1906
Miller   Gill Dilling 
John F. Miller
Term Began 3/16/1908
Hiram C. Gill
Term Began 3/21/1910
Republican. Gill 17,971, William Hickman Moore 14,672.
Gill was recalled by special election held February 9, 1911
George W. Dilling
Term Began 2/11/1911
Dilling was elected to fill the unexpired term.
Cotterill   Gill  Hanson
George F. Cotterill
Term Began 3/18/1912
Cotterill 32,085, Hiram C. Gill 31,281.
Hiram C. Gill
Term Began 3/16/1914 & 3/20/1916
Gill 37,654, J.D. Trenholme 22,918.
Gill 35,336, A.E. Griffiths 29,828.
Ole Hanson
Term Began 3/18/1918
Hanson 32,286, J.A. Bradford 27,677.
Hanson left the City for California on March 18, 1919 and resigned August 28, 1919.
 Fitzgerald  Caldwell  Brown
C.B. Fitzgerald
Term Began 8/28/1919
Fitzgerald was appointed to fill Hanson’s unexpired term.
Hugh M. Caldwell
Term Began 3/15/1920
Caldwell 50,965, James Duncan 33,727.

Edwin J. Brown
Term Began 6/5/1922 & 6/2/1924
Brown 40,394, Dan Landon 28,541.
Brown 40,740, Al Lundeen 36,742.

Landes  Edwards   Harlin
Bertha K. Landes
Term Began 6/7/1926
Landes 48,700, Edwin J. Brown 42,802.
Landes was the first woman mayor of a large metropolitan American city. She was defeated for re-election.
Frank E. Edwards
Term Began 6/4/1928 & 6/2/1930
Edwards 58,873, Bertha K. Landes 39,818.
Edwards 54,369, Otto Case 35,878.
Edwards was recalled at a special election on July 13, 1931, following the controversy over his dismissal of J.D. Ross, Superintendent of Lighting.
Robert H. Harlin
Term Began 7/14/1931
Harlin was appointed by City Council to fill the unexpired term. He was defeated for re-election.
 Dore Charles Smith  Dore  
John F. Dore
Term Began 6/6/1932
Dore 72,614, Robert H. Harlin 41,279.
Charles L. Smith
Term Began 6/4/1934
Smith 62,185, Dore 46,469.
Smith was defeated for re-election in the 1936 primary election.
John F. Dore
Term Began 6/1/1936
Dore 53,385, Arthur B. Langlie 46,578.
Dore became gravely ill and was relieved of his office by City Council on April 13, 1938. He died five days later.
Langlie   Carrol  Millikin
Arthur B. Langlie
Term Began 4/27/1938 & 6/3/1940
Langlie 80,149, Victor A. Meyers 48563.
Langlie had been elected Mayor and took office early (by Council appointment) due to the death of Dore.

Langlie 69,971, Warren L. Cook 19,766.
Langlie resigned January 11, 1941 to become Governor of the State of Washington.
John E. Carroll
Term Began 1/27/1941
Carroll was appointed to serve until an election could be held in March 1941.
Earl Millikin
Term Began 3/27/1941
Millikin 53,794, William F. Devin 48,508.
Millikin was elected to serve the remainder of Langlie’s term.
William F. Devin
Term Began 6/1/1942, 6/1/1944, & 6/1/1946
Devin 64,837, Earl Millikin 43,684.
Devin 58,000, James Scavotto 40,780.
Devin 71,288, Victor A. Meyers 55,082.