The City Charter was amended by voters in November 2013 via Charter Amendment 19. This provided that City Council would consist of nine members, with positions 1 through 7 elected by districts and positions 8 and 9 elected from the city at large. District boundaries were included in the charter amendment and can be redrawn every ten years by a five-member Districting Commission. The first election held under the new system was in November 2015, in which the seven district Councilmembers were elected to four-year terms and the two at-large Councilmembers were elected to two-year terms. Those elected to at-large positions in 2017 will fill four-year terms.

District 1: Lisa Herbold
District 2: Bruce Harrell (President)
District 3: Kshama Sawant
District 4: Rob Johnson
District 5: Debora Juarez
District 6: Mike O'Brien
District 7: Sally Bagshaw
Position 8: Tim Burgess
Position 9: Lorena Gonzalez

  • Tim Burgess resigned from Council on September 18, 2017, to serve out the remainder of Ed Murray's mayoral term. Kirsten Harris-Talley was appointed on October 6, 2017, to complete Burgess's term.