PUBLIC REQUEST UNIT
HOURS OF OPERATION
Monday through Friday
Reports Counter, Fingerprinting:
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Last requests of the day for all services will be taken at 4:45 pm
Concealed Pistol License:
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Last requests of the day for Concealed Pistol Licenses will be taken at 4:00 pm
The public request unit is located in the lobby of Seattle Police Headquarters in the Seattle Justice Center.
- You will be charged $7.00 per card. This may be paid by cash, check or money order.
- Please bring picture identification (State ID card, drivers license or Passport)
- Fingerprint Cards
- If you were asked to get your fingerprints, you will usually be given a fingerprint card by the requestor. Please bring this card with you. If you were not given a card, we will supply it.
- If the fingerprints are for personal use, we will supply you a fingerprint card.
- If the fingerprints are for the purpose of emigration to Canada or Hong Kong, we will supply the print cards.
Concealed Pistol Permits
You must be a Seattle resident to apply for a permit through the Seattle Police Department. An application must be completed and fingerprints taken. If a Washington State Identification Card or Driver's License is provided, the time period required for a background check is 30 days. If the license or ID card is from out of state or if you have lived in the state of Washington less than 90 days, the waiting period is 60 days.
The processing fee for an original permit is $52.50 and must be paid at the time of application. If renewal of the permit is made within 90 days prior to the expiration, the fee is $32.00. If renewal is during the 90 days after the permit expires, the fee is $42.00. After 90 days past the permit's expiration date, it is necessary to start the process over. The fee for replacement of a permit is $10.00. All fees must be paid upon application and are non-refundable.
Criminal History Review and Clearance Letters
Criminal convictions are public record and a record of that information (or lack of convictions) is available from the Washington State Patrol Records Section.
The Seattle Police Department Public Request unit can prepare a "clearance letter" for you if you have never been arrested by the Seattle Police Department. The fee for this letter is $17.50 plus $5.00 for notarization.
Public Records Requests
You may make a walk-in request at the public request unit for:
- Incident Reports/Police Reports
- 9-1-1 Tapes
- Accident Reports
- Other public disclosure requests
You will be asked to complete a Request for Public Records form as well as a Public Information request for any requests outside of public disclosure.
Save yourself a trip! You may be able to find what you need online. Redacted police reports for most incident are available to view online, and you can download and send or fax in a public disclosure request as well.
ONLINE POLICE REPORTS
General Offense (GO) Reports in PDF format are available online for all Burglaries, Robberies, Aggravated Assaults and Homicides. These reports are made available to the public in accordance with the Public Records Act (See Revised Code of Washington, RCW 42.56).
PUBLIC DISCLOSURE REQUESTS
The Seattle Police Department Public Request Unit has specific policies and procedures regarding the release of reports, which are in compliance with the laws that regulate public disclosure with privacy rights. Once the records have been collected, they will be sent to you.
OTHER AGENCY SERVICES
The following are services provided by agencies other than the Seattle Police Department:
Payment for tickets issued by Seattle Police are handled by the Seattle Municipal Court. Tickets can be paid 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, either online or over the phone (206) 684-5600.
If you believe you were issued a parking or traffic citation in error, you may request a hearing before a Municipal Court Magistrate. It is at this hearing that you will be able to explain why you feel the ticket was issued incorrectly. You may reach the Seattle Municipal Court at 684-5600.