Small Business Support

Nominate a Small Business of the Month!

Each month, OED recognizes outstanding entrepreneurs who contribute to the economic vitality and cultural vibrance of our city. These businesses exemplify the innovation, tenacity and spirit of community that are the hallmarks of Seattle small businesses. 

Submit a Nomination!

Owners Trey Lamont and John Devine in front of Jerk Shack with their small business of the month certificate

This Month's Winner

Feed Unavailable

Pedro Gomez headshot

Pedro Gómez
Director of Small Business Development


Fun Fact
"My first business was as a 6-year-old selling water and sodas to farmworkers in the fields of California."

Key Neighborhoods
South Park, South Lake Union, Lake City, Queen Anne, Fremont, Belltown

Contact Pedro 
206-733-9445 | pedro.gomez@seattle.gov

Languages 
English, Español

AJ Cari headshot

AJ Cari
Construction Impacts Advocate


Fun Fact
"I do triathlons for fun and to stay active. Having completed Ironman Canada is one of my proudest achievements."

Contact AJ
206-684-0133 | aj.cari@seattle.gov

Headshot of Sarah Domondon

Sarah Domondon
Small Business Advocate


Fun Fact
"I believe in small business as a tool for building community power. My role as an advocate allows me to serve the community that raised me."

Contact Sarah
(206) 256-5123 | sarah.domondon@seattle.gov

Languages 
English, Tagalog

Stephanie Gowing Headshot

Stephanie Gowing
Green Business Advocate


Fun Fact
"I love biking to appointments to be efficient with neighborhood assistance. I did this through both my pregnancies!"

Contact Stephanie
206-684-3698 | stephanie.gowing@seattle.gov

Domonique Meeks headshot

Domonique Meeks
Small Business Advocate


Fun Fact
"I have a Masters degree from the University of Washington’s School of Information and have a passion for sharing community stories through my podcasts and documentary work."

Contact Domonique
206-256-5433 | domonique.meeks@seattle.gov

Yonas Seifu Headshot

Yonas Seifu
Small Business Advocate


Fun Fact
"I received my Master of Business Administration from the University of Washington Foster School of Business with a focus on marketing and product management."

Key Neighborhoods 
Beacon Hill, Central District, Columbia City, Othello, Rainier Beach, West Seattle

Contact Yonas 
206-733-9743 | yonas.seifu@seattle.gov

Languages 
English, Amharic 

Jennifer Tam headshot

Jennifer Tam
Food Business Advocate


Fun Fact
"I grew up in the restaurant industry, I’ve worked in restaurants, and I believe food is a universal language that brings cultures together. Everyone has to eat!"

Contact Jennifer
206-684-3436 | jennifer.tam@seattle.gov

Languages 
English, conversational Cantonese, conversational Mandarin

Headshot of Hodon Bulale

Hodon Bulale  
Small Business Stabilization Fund Coordinator


Fun Fact
"I have a passion for energizing and empowering my community!"

Contact Hodon
(206) 914 - 7892 | hodon.bulale@seattle.gov

Language
English and can speak, write, and read Somali. 

Diana Macanlalay 
Small Business Stabilization Fund Coordinator


Fun Fact
"Filipinx raised in the PNW. I love the WA rain but I don't like driving in it!"

Contact Diana
(206) 914 - 7632 | diana.macanlalay@seattle.gov

Shaprece Richardson  
Small Business Advocate


Fun Fact
"I once sang with Prince!"

Contact Shaprece
(206) 914 - 7207 | shaprece.richardson@seattle.gov