About the Office of Sustainability and Environment

Vision. Innovation. Collaboration.

The Office of Sustainability and Environment delivers cutting-edge policies and effective programs to address Seattle's environmental challenges while creating vibrant communities and building shared prosperity. Visit the Key Initiatives page to see a list of all the program focus areas for our office.


More examples for each area below can be found in our 2013 Accomplishments Report.

BREAK NEW GROUND

We develop and test forward-looking approaches. For example, following three years of focused effort by OSE, Seattle is poised to be one of the first cities in the United States to develop a district energy system that uses waste heat from sewer lines and data centers to heat buildings.

CREATE MEASURABLE IMPACT

We deliver measurable results that advance the City's environmental goals. For example, OSE worked with its partners to launch the second year of Fresh Bucks, a program that doubles the purchasing power of low-income residents at Seattle farmers markets. In its second year, Fresh Bucks helped more than 2,500 low-income residents buy healthy produce at Seattle farmers markets.

CHART A PATH FORWARD

We create bold and strategic action plans for achieving Seattle's environmental goals. OSE worked closely with Seattle Public Utilities to develop and adopt Seattle's first community-wide implementation goal for green stormwater infrastructure: managing 700 million gallons of stormwater runoff annually with green infrastructure by the year 2025.

Community Partners Steering Committee

Office of Sustainability & Environment
(206) 615-0817
Fax: (206) 684-3013

Mailing Address:
PO Box 94729
Seattle, WA 98124-4729

Street Address:
Seattle Municipal Tower
700-5th Avenue #1868 
Seattle, WA 98104
map it!

Jessica Finn Coven, OSE Director
jessica.finncoven@seattle.gov

Michelle Caulfield, Deputy Director
michelle.caulfield@seattle.gov

Edie Gilliss, Resilience Director
edie.gilliss@seattle.gov

Jeanie Boawn, Office Manager
jeanie.boawn@seattle.gov

Sara Wysocki, Communications Manager
sara.wysocki@seattle.gov

Maketa Brazier, Administrative Specialist II
maketa.brazier@seattle.gov

Contact OSE Team Members By Work Area

Benton Strong, Climate Director
benton.strong@seattle.gov

Tracy Morgenstern, Climate Program Manager
tracy.morgenstern@seattle.gov

Chris Bast, Climate & Transportation Policy Advisor
chris.bast@seattle.gov

Maisha Barnett, Resilience Intern
maisha.barnett@seattle.gov

Sandra Pinto de Bader, Urban Forest Policy Advisor
sandra.pinto_de_bader@seattle.gov

Sharon Lerman, Food Policy & Programs Manager
sharon.lerman@seattle.gov

Robyn Kumar, Fresh Bucks Program Manager
robyn.kumar@seattle.gov

Bridget Igoe, Strategic Advisor, Food Policy & Programs
bridget.igoe@seattle.gov

Marcus Chaffee, Fresh Bucks Intern
marcus.chaffee@seattle.gov

 

Sudha Nandagopal, Equity & Environment Program Manager
sudha.nandagopal@seattle.gov

Sara Cubillos, Equity & Environment Program Coordinator
sara.cubillos@seattle.gov

Shaunice Wilson, Equity & Environment Intern
shaunice.wilson@seattle.gov

Diana Gil Vargas, Equity & Environment Intern
diana.gilvargas@seattle.gov

Sandra Mallory, Sustainable Building Program Manager
sandra.mallory@seattle.gov

Wes Hoppler, Resource Conservation Advisor
wes.hoppler@seattle.gov

Christine Bunch, Climate & Energy Advisor
christine.bunch@seattle.gov

Ani Krishnan, Sr. Sustainable Buildings & Energy Specialist
ani.krishnan@seattle.gov

Nicole Ballinger, Tune-Up Accelerator Program Manager
nicole.ballinger@seattle.gov

Rebecca Baker, Energy Benchmarking & Tune-Ups Program Manager
rebecca.baker@seattle.gov

Terry Sullivan, Energy Benchmarking & Tune-Ups Associate
terry.sullivan@seattle.gov

Ashley McCulley, Energy Benchmarking & Tune-Ups Coordinator
ashley.mcculley@seattle.gov

Blake Ringeisen, Tune-Ups Program Associate
blake.ringeisen@seattle.gov

The Office of Sustainability & Environment (OSE) was created as an executive department by ordinance in 2000. Prior to that, the City established an Environmental Management Plan in 1997, implemented by the (no longer in existence) Office of Management and Planning.

The Office released the City's first Climate Action Plan in 2006 to meet the goals of the Kyoto Protocol and in 2013 released an updated plan to put the city on a path to carbon neutrality by 2050. In 2009, OSE received two federal grants to launch Community Power Works, an innovative energy upgrade program. In 2011, the Department of Planning and Development's Sustainable Building policy staff were merged into OSE.