About the Office of Sustainability and Environment

Vision. Innovation. Collaboration.

The Office of Sustainability and Environment delivers cutting-edge policies and effective programs to address Seattle's environmental challenges while creating vibrant communities and building shared prosperity. Visit the Key Initiatives page to see a list of all the program focus areas for our office.


More examples for each area below can be found in our 2013 Accomplishments Report.

BREAK NEW GROUND

We develop and test forward-looking approaches. For example, following three years of focused effort by OSE, Seattle is poised to be one of the first cities in the United States to develop a district energy system that uses waste heat from sewer lines and data centers to heat buildings.

CREATE MEASURABLE IMPACT

We deliver measurable results that advance the City's environmental goals. For example, OSE worked with its partners to launch the second year of Fresh Bucks, a program that doubles the purchasing power of low-income residents at Seattle farmers markets. In its second year, Fresh Bucks helped more than 2,500 low-income residents buy healthy produce at Seattle farmers markets.

CHART A PATH FORWARD

We create bold and strategic action plans for achieving Seattle's environmental goals. OSE worked closely with Seattle Public Utilities to develop and adopt Seattle's first community-wide implementation goal for green stormwater infrastructure: managing 700 million gallons of stormwater runoff annually with green infrastructure by the year 2025.

Office of Sustainability & Environment
(206) 615-0817
Fax: (206) 684-3013

Mailing Address:
PO Box 94729
Seattle, WA 98124-4729

Street Address:
Seattle Municipal Tower
700-5th Avenue #1868 
Seattle, WA 98104
map it!

Director, Jill Simmons

Office Manager, Jeanie Boawn

Contact OSE Team Members By Work Area

Climate Protection

Tracy Morgenstern, Policy Advisor
tracy.morgenstern@seattle.gov

Christie Baumel, Policy Advisor
christie.baumel@seattle.gov

Green Building & Resource Conservation

Sandra Mallory, Program Manager
sandra.mallory@seattle.gov

Rebecca Baker, Energy Benchmarking Program Manager
rebecca.baker@seattle.gov

Nicole Ballinger, Energy Benchmarking Outreach Advisor
nicole.ballinger@seattle.gov

Angie Morgan, Energy Benchmarking Program Coordinator
angela.morgan@seattle.gov

Wes Hoppler, Resource Conservation Advisor
wes.hoppler@seattle.gov

Dulcey Simpkins, Residential Energy Advisor
dulcey.simpkins@seattle.gov

Pam Emerson, Green Stormwater Infrastructure Policy Advisor
pam.emerson@seattle.gov

Environmental Sustainability Programs & Communication Coordination

Michelle Caulfield, Environmental Sustainability Program Manager
michelle.caulfield@seattle.gov

Sandra Pinto de Bader, Environmental Sustainability Policy Advisor (urban forest management and electric vehicles)
sandra.pinto_de_bader@seattle.gov

Sharon Lerman, Food Policy Advisor
sharon.lerman@seattle.gov

Sara Wysocki, Communications Advisor
sara.wysocki@seattle.gov

Marie Novak, Project Assistant
marie.novak@seattle.gov

Community Power Works

Adam Buick, Grant and Contract Specialist
adam.buick@seattle.gov

Valerie Pacino, Special Projects Coordinator
valerie.pacino@seattle.gov

The Office of Sustainability & Environment (OSE) was created as an executive department by ordinance in 2000. Prior to that, the City established an Environmental Management Plan in 1997, implemented by the (no longer in existence) Office of Management and Planning.

The Office released the City's first Climate Action Plan in 2006 to meet the goals of the Kyoto Protocol and in 2013 released an updated plan to put the city on a path to carbon neutrality by 2050. In 2009, OSE received two federal grants to launch Community Power Works, an innovative energy upgrade program. In 2011, the Department of Planning and Development's Sustainable Building policy staff were merged into OSE.