Vehicle license renewal: taxis and for-hire services

To renew your vehicle license, you must submit all necessary forms and documents as well as pay the fee. Your taxi association or for-hire company should provide you with these forms.

 Renew your Seattle taxi or for-hire vehicle license during the renewal
     period: May 1 to June 30.

In addition to renewing your vehicle license, you must also:

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Required forms and documents for vehicle license renewal

All documents submitted must be originals, no photocopies are allowed. Some documents are not required if we already have valid documents on file.

All vehicle license renewals require:

If you are a corporation or LLC:

If you are filing for change of vehicle during renewal:

  • taxi association approval form
  • security camera installation form

If you are filing for change of owner during renewal:

  • taxi association approval form
  • taxi license transfer price form
  • taxi license release of interest form
  • Seattle business license
  • fingerprint permission form
  • signed certificate of formation from Washington state (for INC or LLC only)
  • signed amended report from Washington state (for INC or LLC only)

Renewal Fees

License typeCostExpires onLate penalty
Vehicle: taxicab or for-hire $600 per year June 30 $60
Seattle business license $90 per year Dec. 31 $10/$20
Taxicab association $1,000 per year Dec. 31 $100

Fees required only in certain situations:

Change of vehicle $100
Change of taxi association $100
Change of LLC member or INC officer $100
Vehicle re-inspection: class A $50
Vehicle re-inspection: class B $100
Inspection rescheduling fee $25
Taximeter test fee $50