Newsroom

7/19
Seattle (July 19) – Seattle Mayor Jenny A. Durkan today applauded Councilmember Teresa Mosqueda and the other members of the Housing, Health, Energy & Workers’ Rights Committee for advancing a “Domestic Workers Bill of Rights” legislation that [...]
7/18
  I was delighted to learn that Seattle Mayor Jenny Durkan has nominated Carmen Best to lead the Seattle Police Department. Thanks, Mayor Durkan! Carmen is definitely the right person for the job. During my three-and-half years as Seattle’s [...]
7/18
Seattle (July 18) – Seattle Mayor Jenny A. Durkan was joined by Seattle City Attorney Pete Holmes, Councilmember M. Lorena González, and Seattle Police Chief Carmen Best as she signed her legislation requiring safe storage of firearms and increasing [...]
7/17
A city’s approach to public safety and criminal justice is one of the most visible expressions of our values. Seattle is the fastest growing city in America. We have become a big city with big city challenges and opportunities. Every day we ask our [...]
7/17
Seattle (July 17) – Mayor Jenny A. Durkan selected Interim Chief Carmen Best as the next Chief of the Seattle Police Department (SPD). Best, who previously served as Deputy Chief under Chief Kathleen O’Toole, is a widely-respected law enforcement [...]
7/10
In Recent Weeks, City Council Passes Five Major Initiatives Authored by Mayor Durkan It’s been a busy few weeks. Following yesterday’s passage of Mayor Durkan’s bill to reduce gun violence in Seattle by requiring gun owners to responsibly store [...]
7/10
Durkan’s Signs Her Fifth Major Piece of Legislation In Recent Weeks In Addition to Providing Free ORCA Passes, Mayor Durkan’s Plan Will Also Help Meet Growing Demand for Transit Seattle (July 10) – Standing today with local students and community [...]
7/9
Legislation Would Increase Civil Penalties and Legal Responsibility for Individuals Who Fail to Responsibly Store Their Firearms Seattle (July 9) – Mayor Jenny A. Durkan today celebrate the Seattle City Council’s passage of her legislation to reduce [...]
7/7
Seattle (June 7) –  Seattle Mayor Jenny A. Durkan announced that former Pittsburgh Police Chief Cameron McLay formally withdrew from consideration for the role of Seattle Police Chief following conversations on police reform with Mayor [...]
7/5
Seattle (July 5) – Mayor Jenny A. Durkan and the City of Seattle announced $5.5 million in awards through the Equitable Development Initiative (EDI), part of the City’s effort to support Seattle’s existing community members and businesses in high [...]

Meet the Mayor's Key Staff Members

Michael Fong - Senior Deputy Mayor
michael.fong@seattle.gov

Shefali Ranganathan - Deputy Mayor for External Relations
shefali.ranganathan@seattle.gov

David Moseley - Deputy Mayor for Operations
david.moseley@seattle.gov

Anthony Auriemma - Director of Legislative Affairs
anthony.auriemma@seattle.gov

Lyle Canceko - Mayor’s Office Administrator
lyle.canceko@seattle.gov

Stephanie Formas - Communications Director
stephanie.formas@seattle.gov

Edie Gilliss - Acting Director of Policy (Deputy Director of Policy)
edie.gilliss@seattle.gov

Andres Mantilla - Director of External Relations and Outreach
andres.mantilla@seattle.gov

Kylie Rolf - Director of Major Initiatives
kylie.rolf@seattle.gov

Ian Warner - Legal Counsel
ian.warner@seattle.gov

Kindle Shaw - Deputy Mayor Moseley's and Legal Counsel Warren's Executive Assistant
kindle.shaw@seattle.gov

Kathryn Goodrich - Deputy Mayor's Fong and Ranganathan's Executive Assistant
kathryn.goodrich@seattle.gov

Colleen O'Reilly Bernier - Mayor's Executive Assistant
colleen.oreillybernier@seattle.gov