Julia Michalak (Position #1 – Wildlife Biologist), Co-chair

Joshua Morris (Position #7 – NGO), Co-Chair

Joe Sisneros (Position #2 – Urban Ecologist - ISA) • Falisha Kurji (Position #3 – Natural Resource Agency)

Becca Neumann (Position #4 – Hydrologist) • Stuart Niven (Position #5 – Arborist – ISA)

Hao Liang (Position #6 – Landscape Architect – ISA) • David Moehring (Position #8 – Development)

Blake Voorhees (Position #9 – Realtor) • Laura Keil (Position #10 – Get Engaged)

Jessica Hernandez (Position #11 – Environmental Justice) • Jessica Jones (Position #12 – Public Health)

Lia Hall (Position #13 – Community/Neighborhood)

June 15, 2022

Councilmember Alex Pedersen Seattle City Council 600 4<sup>th</sup> Ave Seattle, WA 98104

RE: Deadline extension for SLI MO-001-A-002-2022

Dear Councilmember Pedersen,

Duwamish Lands (Seattle, WA) – The Urban Forestry Commission (UFC) requests additional time to respond to <u>Statement of Legislative Intent MO-001-002-2022</u>, City Council's request for recommendations regarding creating a "chief arborist" position. The UFC believes extending the deadline from July 1 to September 9, 2022, will be advantageous for three reasons:

- 1. The results of the 2021 canopy cover assessment will be available in July. This information will help us better understand the state of the urban forest and inform what essential functions (e.g., regulatory vs. strategic) a "chief arborist" should play;
- 2. The appeal on SDCI's proposed update to the tree protection ordinance is likely to be resolved over the summer. That outcome will also help shape recommendations. And;
- 3. The additional time will allow the UFC to coordinate and collaborate with City staff in a way that would not be possible under the current timeline.

The UFC has been in contact with the Office of Sustainability and Environment to establish a process for collaborating and delivering a response or responses to SLI MO-001-002-2022 by early September, which will still be timely for 2023 budget recommendations.

Thank you for your patience and flexibility.

Sincerely,

Joshua Morris, Co-Chair

Jan

Julia Michalak, Co-Chair

cc: Councilmember Kshama Sawant, Councilmember Dan Strauss, Dan Nolte, Christa Valles, Yolanda Ho, Jessyn Farrell, Michelle Caulfield, Sharon Lerman