Local and State Governments

Seattle uses the Mayor-Council form of city government. The offices of the Mayor, nine City Council members and the City Attorney are all elected by the citizens.

As of January 2014, the Mayor of Seattle is Ed Murray, and the members of the Seattle City Council are Sally Clark, Jean Godden, Kshama Sawant, Bruce Harrell, Sally Bagshaw, Tom Rasmussen, Nick Licata, Tim Burgess, and Mike O'Brien. The City Attorney is Peter Holmes.

The City of Seattle is part of King County. The County Executive is Dow Constantine.

The Governor of the State of Washington is Jay Inslee.

Among Seattle's notable past politicians is Bertha Knight Landes, mayor from 1926 to 1928. She was the first woman mayor of a major American city. For more history of Seattle's elected officials, visit City Officials in the Seattle Municipal Archives.

Official Seattle

City Bird:
Great Blue Heron

City Flower:

City Mottos:
The City of Flowers
The City of Goodwill

City Song:
"Seattle the Peerless City"

For more about Seattle's symbols, visit Seattle City Symbols in the Seattle Municipal Archives.