Excellence in Leadership Awards Program


Please join us for the Seattle Management Association's Annual Excellence in Leadership Award Ceremony at 4:00 PM on Thursday, November 2, 2017 at Club Sur 2901 1st Avenue South, Seattle.

Guest Speakers - Mayor Tim Burgess & Sam Assefa, OPCD Director

Master of Ceremonies - Dwane Chappelle, DEEL Director 

We are excited to recognize the following individual and team winners that exemplify our theme "Excellence In Leadership":

2017 SMA Excellence in Leadership Awards

Public Service Individual:  Valarie Anderson (SPD) / Team:  Cheryl Swab/John Paul (SDOT)   

Community Service Individual:  Javier Valdez (MO) / Team:  Shower Team (PKS)  

Planning & Project Management Individual:  Ryan Kennedy (FAS)  

Race & Social Justice Individual:  Mary Wideman-Williams (CEN) / Team:  SOCR/SPD Team  

Environmental Stewardship Individual:  Chris Peguero (SCL)  

Hidden Gem/Unsung Hero Individual:  Ardel Jala (SDCI) / Team:  3rd Shift Crew (PKS)  


Registration is available through the following link HERE. Tickets are $30 for SMA members and $40 for non-members and include appetizers, non-alcoholic beverages, and a no-host bar.

Space is limited. Pre-registration is strongly suggested.

List of Past Winners

If you are interested in receiving further information about SMA activities and events, please sign up for our listserv by submitting your email where indicated on the left hand side of the website.

If you have additional questions, please email sma@seattle.gov.