Land Acknowledgement 

We acknowledge that we are located on ancestral lands of the Coast Salish peoples, specifically the Duwamish, Suquamish, Stillaguamish, and Muckleshoot Tribes. People that are still here and continue to honor their heritage.

Redistricting Commission

The Seattle Redistricting Commission is responsible for overseeing the development of new City Council district lines in response to the completed 2020 Census.

City of Seattle Charter


Redistricting is the process of redrawing districts for each government body that uses district elections, including the U.S. House of Representatives, state legislatures, county boards of supervisors, City councils, school boards, and special districts. Through a City Charter mandated process, the Redistricting Commission is in charge of drawing new maps for City Council districts to make sure each district has about the same number of people amongst other requirements. 


Who We Are

People drawing districts and pointing at district map

The Redistricting Commission is comprised of five members: 

  • Two Commissioners are appointed by the City Council, confirmed via a two-thirds vote of the Council. 
  • Two Commissioners are appointed by the Mayor. 
  • One Commissioner is appointed by the initial four members of the Commission, approved via a majority vote. 

Redistricting Commissioners shall serve, subject to other limitations under the Charter of the City of Seattle and applicable state law, until the districts proposal they have approved is submitted to the State of Washington no later than November 15, 2022. 

Who We Are