Working for a safe, affordable, vibrant, innovative, and interconnected city.
Learn More
Skip to main content
Sunny day at Lincoln Park

Sunny day at Lincoln Park

Photo by CityWeb Team

  • photo #1
  • photo #2
  • photo #3
  • photo #4
Print this Page  
City of Seattle
Seattle City Council

SUBJECT: Seattle City Council to hear from Department of Justice Monitor Merrick Bobb

3/7/2013  4:07:00 PM
Vinh Tang, Councilmember Harrell's Office, 206-684-8804

Dana Robinson Slote  (206) 615-0061

Council President Sally J. Clark
Councilmember Bruce A. Harrell

Seattle City Council to hear from Department of Justice Monitor Merrick Bobb

Seattle - Seattle City Council will host Merrick Bobb and members of the Monitoring team at Council Briefing on Monday, March 11. Bobb is the court-appointed independent monitor for the Department of Justice (DOJ) Settlement Agreement and will provide an update and briefing on the Monitoring Plan.

"The Council looks forward to hearing Merrick Bobb's thoughts and plans to help our Police Department implement the changes required under the Settlement Agreement. We are encouraged that a Monitoring Plan will soon be approved by the Court and look forward to a focused approach on specific outcomes," said Councilmember Bruce Harrell, chair of the Public Safety committee.

The Monitoring Plan for the first year was submitted on March 5 and the Department of Justice filed its "Notice of Approval of the Monitoring Plan for the First Year" with the U.S. District Court on March 6. This is a critical checkpoint in Seattle's DOJ Settlement Agreement. The proposed Monitoring Plan establishes expectations and guidance for the City and DOJ on how the Monitor will assess compliance with the Settlement Agreement.

Monitoring Plan as submitted to U.S. Federal District Judge Hon. James Robart on March 5.

WHAT:           Council Briefing

WHEN:           Monday, March 11, 2013, at 9 a.m.

WHERE:         Council Chambers, second floor
                        Seattle City Hall, 600 Fourth Avenue, Seattle 98104

WHO:              Council President Sally J. Clark
                        Councilmember Bruce A. Harrell
                        Councilmember Sally Bagshaw                    
                        Councilmember Tim Burgess
                        Councilmember Richard Conlin                    
                        Councilmember Jean Godden
                        Councilmember Nick Licata
                        Councilmember Mike O'Brien
                        Councilmember Tom Rasmussen
                        Merrick Bobb (Department of Justice Monitoring Team)
                        Chris Moulton (Department of Justice Monitoring Team)
                        Nick Armstrong (Department of Justice Monitoring Team)
                        Peter Ehrlichman (Department of Justice Monitoring Team)
                        Ronald Ward (Department of Justice Monitoring Team)

Back to News Release Home Page and News Release Search