Seattle Youth Commission

The Seattle Youth Commission is a group of 15 Seattle teens from all over the city who are appointed by the Mayor and City Council to connect youth to local elected officials, advise on City policies, and discuss issues that youth in Seattle are facing. There is a Youth Commissioner representing each of the seven City Council Districts, as well as eight at-large commissioners. 

Youth Commissioners must be between the ages of 13 - 19. They serve a two-year term and meet on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays from 4:30-6:00 pm in Seattle City Hall. 

Youth Commissioners have the opportunity to:

  • Develop public-speaking, facilitation, organizing and communication skills
  • Cultivate a deeper appreciation of cultural competency and inclusive civic engagement
  • Learn from key community and City leaders and build new relationships
  • Discuss issues and solutions with other Seattle youth and develop projects that address those concerns
  • Advise the Mayor, City Council and City departments on issues that impact youth in Seattle
  • Collaborate on a community project with other Youth Commissioners
  • Plan an annual event (or several events) that connects youth to local government and topics they care about

The Seattle Youth Commission has selected three primary issues of focus for their work in 2016-2017. Throughout the course of the year, the committees will be developing different projects that align with these broader topics:

  • Public Safety
    Committee Members: Ziah Daily, Andy Huynh, Annie Maher, Clarissa Perez, Xochitl Wilder
  • Homelessness/Housing Affordability
    Committee Members: Victoria Johnson, Kaileah Mayer, James Mounts, Becky Scurlock, Isabella Sundy, Carter Sylvia
  • Schools/Education
    Committee Members: Leila Adams, Jess Juanich, Dhani Srinivasan, Xochitl Wilder, Catherine Zhu

Get Involved

The Seattle Youth Commission meets twice a month on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays, from 4:00-6:00 pm at Seattle City Hall (600 4th Avenue) in the Boards & Commissions Room (L280).  Download the program year calendar. 

We recruit commissioners on an annual basis. The next recruiting process will take place in spring/summer 2017.