Working for a safe, affordable, vibrant, innovative, and interconnected city.
Learn More

Lighthouse in Discovery Park

Photo by Pedalhead'71

  • photo #1
  • photo #2
  • photo #3
  • photo #4

Elected Officials

The City of Seattle has a charter form of government with an elected Mayor, nine member City Council, and City Attorney. Seattle registered voters also elect eight judges to the Municipal Court.

All municipal elective offices are non-partisan and elected officials serve four-year terms.


Seattle's Mayor is the head of the Executive department. The Mayor directs and controls all City offices and departments except where that authority is granted to another office by the City Charter.

City Council

The Seattle City Council establishes City policy through enactment of ordinances (laws) and adoption of resolutions. The City Council also approves and adopts the City's budget. The nine Council members and their legislative assistants are part of the City of Seattle Legislative Department.

City Attorney

The City Attorney heads the Law Department and is responsible for supervising all City litigation. In addition, the City Attorney supervises a staff of Assistant City Attorneys who provide legal advice and assistance to the City's management and prosecute violations of City ordinances.

Municipal Court Judges

The Municipal Court, established in accordance with State law, is the Judicial department of the City. Seattle voters elect seven judges and those judges then appoint judicial officers called Magistrates. The Court is authorized by the State of Washington and the Seattle Municipal Code to hear and decide both criminal and civil matters.

Upcoming City Events

Elected Officials' Calendar

Elected Officials' Blog Posts