Sweetened Beverage Tax Community Advisory Board

About the Board

The Sweetened Beverage Tax Community Advisory Board was established by the City Council (Ordinance 125324) to advise and make recommendations to the Mayor and City Council on programs and activities supported by the tax revenue.

Services funded by the proceeds of the beverage tax are intended to expand access to healthy and affordable food, close the food security gap, promote healthy nutrition choices, reduce disparities in social, developmental, and education readiness and learning for children, assist high school graduates to enter college, and expand services for the birth-to-five population and their families.

For more information about the Sweetened Beverage Tax, visit the tax webpage.

Next Meeting

Friday, January 19, 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Seattle Municipal Tower 700 Fifth Ave, Room 1610 (Floor 16)  

(All Board meetings are open to the public.)    

Past Meeting Materials

  Date   Materials
  December 8, 2017     Agenda  | Minutes
  November 2, 2017     Agenda  | Minutes
  October 13, 2017   Agenda | Minutes | Presentations 

Board Members

The composition of the Sweetened Beverage Tax Community Advisory Board is guided by the ordinance (125324). The Board consists of 11 members who are residents of the City of Seattle or work within the boundaries of the City of Seattle. Six members of the Board are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. Five members are appointed by the City Council. The 11 members meet the following criteria:

  • Three members have experience implementing community-based programs dedicated to expanding healthy food access and food security;
  • Two members represent populations who are disproportionally impacted by diseases related to the consumption of sugary drinks;
  • Four members have expertise in public health and nutrition with experience managing, researching, or evaluating programs related to the health effects of consuming sugary beverages, particularly among children and their families; 
  • Two members have expertise in education and early learning, with an emphasis on learning from birth to age five.

Name Position Title Term Begin Date Term End Date Appointing Authority
  Lisa Chen   Food Access Representative  9/1/2017  8/31/2021  Council
  Christina Wong   Food Access Representative  9/1/2017  8/31/2019  Mayor
  Leika Suzumura   Food Access Representative  9/1/2017  8/31/2019  Mayor
  Ahmed Ali   Community Representative  9/1/2017  8/31/2019  Mayor
  Yolanda Matthews   Community Representative  9/1/2017  8/31/2019  Council
  Jim Krieger   Public Health Representative  9/1/2017  8/31/2019  Council
  Laura Flores Cantrell   Public Health Representative  9/1/2017  8/31/2021  Council
  Jessica Jones-Smith   Public Health Representative  9/1/2017  8/31/2021  Mayor
  Jessica Marcinkevage   Public Health Representative  9/1/2017  8/31/2021  Mayor
  Mackenzie Chase   Early Learning Representative  9/1/2017  8/31/2021  Council
  Appointment Pending    Early Learning Representative  9/1/2017  8/31/2021  Mayor