Summer Learning

The Families and Education Levy believes that high-quality summer learning programs are critical to closing the achievement gap. Summer learning programs provide struggling students with additional learning time to catch up with their peers, establish deeper relationships with their teachers and positive adult role models, and participate in experiential learning activities (eg. STEM, visual and performing arts, and college/career exploration) typically not available during the regular school year. In particular, the Families and Education Levy focuses on serving the needs of the following students:

  • Children with no prior preschool experience
  • Children who have been identified as not meeting Teaching Strategies GOLD standards
  • Students who received a Level 1 or Level 2 score on the math or reading portion of the Smarter Balanced Assessment (SBA)
  • Students who fell below the typical growth level for math or reading on the Measures of Academic Progress (MAP)
  • Students who demonstrated no gains or low proficiency on the Washington English Language Proficiency Assessment (WELPA)
  • Students who failed at least one core course during the first semester
  • Students who received more than 5 absences during the first semester

In Summer 2016, the Families and Education Levy will invest a total of $2.3 million in high-quality summer learning programs that serve more than 2,000 of Seattle's students.

  • If you are a school or community based organization interested in applying for funding, please see current "Funding Opportunities."

  • If you are a student or parent interested in summer programs, please see our list below and contact the program directly.


Levy Funded Summer Programs

Elementary Summer LearningGradeLocation(s)Contact

Denise Louie - Camp Panda
Kindergarten Readiness Program

Rising

K

Kanani Koster:
kkoster@deniselouie.org
206-641-6471

Launch - Leap Ahead
Kindergarten Readiness Program

Rising

K

Darline Guerrero
darline.guerrero@launchlearning.org
206-726-7972

Neighborhood House
Kindergarten Readiness Program

Rising

K

Theresa James
theresaj@nhwa.org
206-461-8430 ext. 2041

Southwest Early Learning
Kindergarten Readiness Program

Rising

K

Karina Rojas Rodriguez
karina.rojas@soundchildcare.org
206-913-2980

Catholic Community Services
Youth Tutoring Program

Rising

1st-5th

Jaycee Coleman
yesler@ccsww.org
206-682-5590

Chinese Information and Service Center

Rising

1st-3rd

Abby Lin
abbyl@cisc-seattle.org
206-624-5633 x4155

Graham Hill / South Shore Elementaries
Camp 98118

Rising

1st-5th

Jennie Morrison
jlmorrison1@seattleschools.org
206-310-1212

John Muir Elementary

Rising

1st-5th

Please talk to John Muir main office

Seattle Parks & Recreation
Northgate Summer Academy

Rising

1st-5th

Connor Durham
crdurham@seattleschools.org
206-510-0892

Middle School Summer LearningGradeLocation(s)Contact

Boys & Girls Club - "Work, Learn & Earn"
Teen Summer Camp

Rising

7th-8th

Kelvin Washington
kwashington@positiveplace.org
206-436-1858

Computing Kids - "Code Your Future"
Computer Science Camp

Rising

7th-8th

Alaina Woodford
CodeYourFuture@computingkids.com
260-204-1115

Denny Middle School
Westside Scholars Academy

Rising

6th-8th

Roxana Amaral
rmamaral@seattleschools.org
206-252-8954

El Centro de la Raza
Roberto Maestas Summer Learning Program

Rising

7th-8th

Denise Perez Lally
dperezlally@elcentrodelaraza.org
206-957-4609

Life Enrichment Group
The Scholars Project

Rising

6th-8th

Monika Mathews
info@lifeenrichmentgroup.org
206-302-8114

Seattle Parks & Recreation
Parks Academy of Learning 

Rising

6th-8th

Mike Browne
mlbrowne@seattleschools.org
206-252-7756

Seattle Parks & Recreation
Parks Academy of Learning 

Rising

6th-8th

Doug Berndt
daberndt@seattleschools.org
206-252-1913

Seattle Parks & Recreation
Parks Academy of Learning

Rising

6th-8th

Damien Hicks
dlhicks@seattleschools.org
206-252-8020

University of Washington
Native Youth Enrichment Program (NYEP)

Rising

6th-8th

Kerrie Murphy
ksmurp66@uw.edu
206-543-1646

Woodland Park Zoo
ZooCrew Summer Learning Experience

Rising

7th-8th

Ryan Driscoll
ZooCrew@zoo.org
206-548-2579

YMCA
Y.U. LEARN

Rising

7th-8th

Liz Chase
eachase@seattleschools.org
206-252-5831

YMCA
Y.U. LEARN @ Jane Addams Middle School

Rising

7th-8th

Georgina Ramirez
gramirez@seattleymca.org
206-524-1400

High School Summer LearningGradeLocation(s)Contact

Refugee Women's Alliance (ReWA)
Literacy and Math Academy

Rising

9th-12th

Irene Rodriguez
girodriguez@seattleschools.org
206-252-2200

Seattle Public Schools
High School Credit Retrieval

Rising

10th-12th

Contact your student's high school counselor

SW Youth & Families Services
Young Writers Workshop

Rising

10th-12th

Bryan Hayes
bhayes@swyfs.org
206-937-7680

YMCA
Level 9 Program

Rising

9th

Agnes Leapai
atleapai@seattleschools.org
206-252-3148

YMCA
Level 9 Program

Rising

9th

Brian Caylao
bcaylao@seattleymca.org
206-252-8778

YMCA
Project 206 Program

Rising

9th

Theresa Hardy
trhardy@seattleschools.org
206-252-2351

Updated June 17, 2016