Working for a safe, affordable, vibrant, innovative, and interconnected city.
Learn More
Seattle.gov Home Page
Seattle.gov This Department
Link to OED Home Page Link to OED Home Page Link to OED About Us Page Link to OED Contact Us Page
Start, Grow, or Green Your Business Stephen H. Johnson, Director
Business Owners Business Districts Key Industries News and Resources
About Us
Staff Directory List
Employment Opportunities at OED
Contact Us

Staff Directory List



OFFICE OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
EXECUTIVE
Stephen H. Johnson
DIRECTOR
206-684-8090
steve.johnson@seattle.gov


Tina Vlasaty
DEPUTY DIRECTOR
206-684-3348
tina.vlasaty@seattle.gov


Danielle Hursh
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT
  • Executive scheduling
  • Administrative Support for Workforce Development
  • Office Management
206-733-9254
danielle.hursh@seattle.gov


Yvonne Newson
ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF SPECIALIST
  • Scheduling, support for Business Retention & Expansion, Business Districts, and Finance & Operations
  • Contract administration
206-684-8090
yvonne.newson@seattle.gov


SPECIAL PROJECTS AND POLICY
Roque Deherrera
MARITIME AND MANUFACTURING ADVOCATE
  • Maritime and manufacturing company support
  • General regulatory and permitting assistance
  • Citywide Business Advocacy Team
206-684-4538
roque.deherrera@seattle.gov


Rebecca Lovell
STARTUP ADVOCATE
  • Startup Seattle connecting technology startups to resources
206-733-9196
rebecca.lovell@seattle.gov


Michael McVicker
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT POLICY ADVISOR
  • Economic Development Commission
206-233-3868
michael.mcvicker@seattle.gov


Karl Stickel
BUSINESS POLICY ADVISOR
  • Regulatory Reform/Process Improvement
  • Business Improvement Area (BIA) development
  • Citywide Business Advocacy Team
206-684-8085
karl.stickel@seattle.gov


FINANCE & OPERATIONS
Amanda Allen
FINANCE AND OPERATIONS MANAGER
206-684-8894
amanda.allen@seattle.gov


Suching Luu
SENIOR FINANCE ANALYST
206-684-7391
suching.luu@seattle.gov


WORKFORCE POLICY & PARTNERSHIPS
Nancy Yamamoto
WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT MANAGER
  • Pathways to Careers
206-684-8189
nancy.yamamoto@seattle.gov


Matthew Houghton
WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT ADVISOR
  • Workforce issues including skilled workers, technical education capacity building, green jobs, and Seattle Jobs Initiative
206-684-3978
matthew.houghton@seattle.gov


BUSINESS RETENTION & EXPANSION
Lance Randall
BUSINESS RETENTION AND EXPANSION MANAGER
  • Business outreach, retention, and expansion
206-733-9743
lance.randall@seattle.gov


AJ Cari
BUSINESS FINANCE SPECIALIST
  • New Markets Tax Credits
206-684-0133 aj.cari@seattle.gov


Stephanie Gowing
GREEN BUSINESS ADVOCATE
  • High Performance Buildings Pilot
  • Energy Efficiency and Solar Lending
  • Seattle Green Business Program
206-684-3698
stephanie.gowing@seattle.gov


James Kelly
SMALL BUSINESS ADVOCATE
  • Access Seattle - construction impacts assistance
206-684-3698
james.kelly2@seattle.gov


Ken Takahashi
BUSINESS FINANCE ADVISOR
  • Financing for business and real estate projects
  • Rainier Valley Community Development Fund
206-684-8378 ken.takahashi@seattle.gov


Jennifer Tam
RESTAURANT ADVOCATE
  • Restaurant Success
206-684-3436
jennifer.tam@seattle.gov


BUSINESS DISTRICTS
Theresa Barreras
BUSINESS DISTRICTS MANAGER
  • Only in Seattle commercial district revitalization
  • Business Improvement Districts (BIAs)
206-684-4505
theresa.barreras@seattle.gov


Mikel Davila
BUSINESS DISTRICTS ADVOCATE
  • Only in Seattle commercial district revitalization
  • Only in Seattle Peer Networks
  • Only in Seattle marketing campaign
206-386-9748
mikel.davila@seattle.gov


Heidi Hall
BUSINESS DISTRICTS ADVOCATE
  • Only in Seattle commercial district revitalization
206-763-9967
heidi.hall@seattle.gov


COMMUNICATIONS
Karin Zaugg Black
COMMUNICATIONS DIRECTOR
  • Media questions
  • Trade show, marketing inquiries
  • Website/electronic communications
206-733-9810
karin.zaugg@seattle.gov


Communications Intern
  • Newsletter, website, and blogs
206-684-4008
oed@seattle.gov


FILM + MUSIC OFFICE
Kate Becker
DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF FILM + MUSIC
206-684-5030
kate.becker@seattle.gov


Mikhael Williams
CREATIVE INDUSTRIES ADVOCATE
  • Business Development Liaison to Seattle's film, music, and nightlife industries
  • Technical assistance and promotion of Seattle's creative industries
  • Music Commission
206-684-8504
mikhael.williams@seattle.gov


Christopher Swenson
FILM + SPECIAL EVENTS MANAGER
CHAIR, CITY OF SEATTLE SPECIAL EVENTS COMMITTEE
  • Film and Special Events permits for all film and special event projects on Seattle public property
206-733-9245 christopher.swenson@seattle.gov


Sam Mouser
FILM + SPECIAL EVENTS PERMIT SPECIALIST
206-233-3948 sam.mouser@seattle.gov


Julie Borden
ADMINISTRATIVE SPECIALIST
206-684-8017 julie.borden@seattle.gov