Staff Directory List

EXECUTIVE
Brian K. Surratt
DIRECTOR
206-684-8090
brian.surratt@seattle.gov
Kevin Burrell
DEPUTY DIRECTOR
206-684-3348
kevin.burrell@seattle.gov
Danielle Hursh
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT
  • Executive scheduling
  • Administrative Support for Workforce Development
  • Office Management
206-733-9254
danielle.hursh@seattle.gov
Yvonne Newson
ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF SPECIALIST
  • Scheduling, support for Business Retention & Expansion, Business Districts, and Finance & Operations
  • Contract administration
206-684-8090
yvonne.newson@seattle.gov
SPECIAL PROJECTS AND POLICY
Roque Deherrera
MARITIME AND MANUFACTURING ADVOCATE
  • Maritime and manufacturing company support
  • General regulatory and permitting assistance
  • Citywide Business Advocacy Team
206-684-4538
roque.deherrera@seattle.gov
Rebecca Lovell
STARTUP ADVOCATE
  • Startup Seattle – connecting technology startups to resources
206-733-9196
rebecca.lovell@seattle.gov
Roman Ryan
STARTUP SEATTLE
  • Communications
roman.ryan@seattle.gov
Michael McVicker
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT POLICY ADVISOR
  • Economic Development Commission
206-233-3868
michael.mcvicker@seattle.gov
Karl Stickel
BUSINESS POLICY ADVISOR
  • Regulatory Reform/Process Improvement
  • Business Improvement Area (BIA) development
  • Citywide Business Advocacy Team
206-684-8085
karl.stickel@seattle.gov
FINANCE & OPERATIONS
Amanda Allen
FINANCE AND OPERATIONS MANAGER
206-684-8894
amanda.allen@seattle.gov
Suching Luu
SENIOR FINANCE ANALYST
206-684-7391
suching.luu@seattle.gov
WORKFORCE POLICY & PARTNERSHIPS
Nancy Yamamoto
WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT MANAGER
  • Pathways to Careers
206-684-8189
nancy.yamamoto@seattle.gov
Matthew Houghton
WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT ADVISOR
  • Workforce issues including skilled workers, technical education capacity building, green jobs, and Seattle Jobs Initiative
206-684-3978
matthew.houghton@seattle.gov
BUSINESS RETENTION & EXPANSION
Lance Randall
BUSINESS RETENTION AND EXPANSION MANAGER
  • Business outreach, retention, and expansion
206-733-9743
lance.randall@seattle.gov
AJ Cari
BUSINESS FINANCE SPECIALIST
  • New Markets Tax Credits
206-684-0133 aj.cari@seattle.gov
Stephanie Gowing
GREEN BUSINESS ADVOCATE
  • High Performance Buildings Pilot
  • Energy Efficiency and Solar Lending
  • Seattle Green Business Program
206-684-3698
stephanie.gowing@seattle.gov
James Kelly
SMALL BUSINESS ADVOCATE
  • Access Seattle - construction impacts assistance
206-684-3698
james.kelly2@seattle.gov
Ken Takahashi
BUSINESS FINANCE ADVISOR
  • Financing for business and real estate projects
  • Rainier Valley Community Development Fund
206-684-8378 ken.takahashi@seattle.gov
Jennifer Tam
RESTAURANT ADVOCATE
  • Restaurant Success
206-684-3436
jennifer.tam@seattle.gov
BUSINESS DISTRICTS
Theresa Barreras
BUSINESS DISTRICTS MANAGER
  • Only in Seattle – commercial district revitalization
  • Business Improvement Districts (BIAs)
206-684-4505
theresa.barreras@seattle.gov
Mikel Davila
BUSINESS DISTRICTS ADVOCATE
  • Only in Seattle – commercial district revitalization
  • Only in Seattle Peer Networks
  • Only in Seattle marketing campaign
206-386-9748
mikel.davila@seattle.gov
Heidi Hall
BUSINESS DISTRICTS ADVOCATE
  • Only in Seattle – commercial district revitalization
206-733-9967
heidi.hall@seattle.gov
COMMUNICATIONS
Karin Zaugg Black
COMMUNICATIONS DIRECTOR
  • Media questions
  • Trade show, marketing inquiries
  • Website/electronic communications
206-733-9810
karin.zaugg@seattle.gov
John Crawford-Gallagher
PUBLIC AFFAIRS SPECIALIST
  • OED Digest, Film + Music Newsletter
  • Social media, website, and blogs
  • Strategy, special projects
206-684-4008
john.crawfordgallagher@seattle.gov
FILM + MUSIC OFFICE
Kate Becker
DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF FILM + MUSIC
206-684-5030
kate.becker@seattle.gov
Mikhael Williams
CREATIVE INDUSTRIES ADVOCATE
  • Business Development Liaison to Seattle's film, music, and nightlife industries
  • Technical assistance and promotion of Seattle's creative industries
  • Music Commission
206-684-8504
mikhael.williams@seattle.gov
Christopher Swenson
FILM + SPECIAL EVENTS MANAGER
CHAIR, CITY OF SEATTLE SPECIAL EVENTS COMMITTEE
  • Film and Special Events permits for all film and special event projects on Seattle public property
206-733-9245 christopher.swenson@seattle.gov
Sam Mouser
FILM + SPECIAL EVENTS PERMIT SPECIALIST
    206-233-3948 sam.mouser@seattle.gov
    Julie Borden
    ADMINISTRATIVE SPECIALIST
      206-684-8017 julie.borden@seattle.gov