Working for a safe, affordable, vibrant, innovative, and interconnected city.
Learn More Home Page
I want to search within the following: This Department
Follow UsTwitterFacebookFlickrpodcastCouncil Connections blogRSS feeds
Seattle City Council Home Page

Visit Individual
Councilmember Pages

Seattle City Council Sally Bagshaw Rob Johnson Kshama Sawant Lorena González Mike O'Brien Debora Juarez Bruce Harrell Lisa Herbold Tim Burgess
   Home    Contact Us Council Calendar News & Updates Committees & Agendas Current Issues Council Live Research City Laws  About Us 
Council Blogs
& Social Media Links
Meeting Agenda Archive
Meeting Video Archive

Current Issues
Past Issues
Audit Committee
OPA Review Board (OPARB)
Boards, Panels & Commissions
Seattle Transportation Benefit District
Customer Service Bureau

About Us/
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Visiting City Hall
Access to City Hall for Individuals with Disabilities

Full Council Action Summary
Work Program
2012 Action Plan
2011 Annual Report
Council Visitors'
Sign in Sheets
Legislative Records

LIVE! Council Meetings
Seattle Channel
City Inside/Out
Audio Podcast

City Logo

Council News Release

3/24/2009  4:39:00 PM
Ann Corbitt, Rasmussen Office, 206-684-8808 Dana Robinson Slote, (206) 615-0061

Councilmember Tom Rasmussen

Committee Approves Seattle Parks for All Levy Oversight Committee

SEATTLE Today the Seattle City Council Parks and Seattle Center Committee appointed twelve members to the new Seattle Parks for All Levy Oversight Committee. The committee will guide implementation of the six-year, $145 million park improvement levy authorized by the voters last November.

The levy will fund park and playground safety improvements, renovation of major buildings and will allow the purchase of land for new parks in rapidly growing neighborhoods throughout Seattle. The new committee members are:

Douglas Dunham, from the northwest; Cheryl Klinker from the northeast, Joyce Moty from the central south; Terry Holme from the east; Don Harper from the central west; Sharon H. Lee from the northeast; Alec Stephens from the southeast; Neal Adams from the southwest; Cindi Barker from the southwest; Beth Purcell from the central east; Matthew Mega from the northeast; and John P. Spalding from the southwest. The Council is expected to name the remaining four members to the sixteen member oversight committee in April.

Councilmember Tom Rasmussen, Chair of the committee, said, We have an exceptionally talented committee of volunteers from throughout Seattle who are eager to do their part to get the new levy off the ground. In April, the City Council will review and approve the appropriation for the first round of levy funded projects, 3 months before originally planned.

The Council wants to get the levy projects underway as quickly as possible, said Councilmember Rasmussen. The projects will result in significant improvement to our neighborhoods and have the added benefit of creating additional construction jobs in Seattle.

The first meeting of the Oversight Committee will be held on March 30th at 7:00 p.m. at Parks Department Headquarters in the Parks Board Room (100 Dexter Ave. N.).

Council meetings are cablecast live on Seattle Channel 21 and Webcast live on the City Councils website at Copies of legislation, archives of previous meetings, and news releases are available on Questions about Council news releases can be directed to Kimberly Reason, Council Communications, at 206-684-8159, or by e-mail at


City Council

Council Connection: News & Updates
Contact us

City of Seattle LogoSeattle City Hall
600 Fourth Ave. 2nd Floor
Seattle, WA 98104
Visiting City Hall

Access to City Hall for Individuals with Disabilities
Mailing Address:
PO Box 34025
Seattle, WA 98124-4025
City Customer Service: 206-684-2489
City Council Front Desk: 206-684-8888
Fax: 206-684-8587
TTY/TDD: 206-233-0025
Listen Line: 206-684-8566
Non -English Language Information