Working for a safe, affordable, vibrant, innovative, and interconnected city.
Learn More Home Page
I want to search within the following: This Department
Follow UsTwitterFacebookFlickrpodcastCouncil Connections blogRSS feeds
Seattle City Council Home Page

Visit Individual
Councilmember Pages

Seattle City Council Sally Bagshaw Rob Johnson Kshama Sawant Lorena González Mike O'Brien Debora Juarez Bruce Harrell Lisa Herbold Tim Burgess
   Home    Contact Us Council Calendar News & Updates Committees & Agendas Current Issues Council Live Research City Laws  About Us 
Council Blogs
& Social Media Links
Meeting Agenda Archive
Meeting Video Archive

Current Issues
Past Issues
Audit Committee
OPA Review Board (OPARB)
Boards, Panels & Commissions
Seattle Transportation Benefit District
Customer Service Bureau

About Us/
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Visiting City Hall
Access to City Hall for Individuals with Disabilities

Full Council Action Summary
Work Program
2012 Action Plan
2011 Annual Report
Council Visitors'
Sign in Sheets
Legislative Records

LIVE! Council Meetings
Seattle Channel
City Inside/Out
Audio Podcast

City Logo

Council News Release

8/28/2008  2:02:00 PM
Dan Nolte, Clark Office (206) 684-8802
Nigel Herbig, Burgess Office (206) 684-8806
Brian Hawksford, Rasmussen Office (206) 684-8808
Tom Van Bronkhorst, Godden Office (206) 684-8807
Rob Gala, Conlin Office (206) 684-8805

Councilmember Sally J. Clark
Councilmember Tim Burgess
Councilmember Tom Rasmussen
Councilmember Jean Godden
Council President Richard Conlin


SEATTLE Five City Council members announced today they will introduce legislation prohibiting the use of taxpayer money to pay fines imposed by the Seattle Ethics and Elections Commission for violations of the city's ethics and elections laws.

Councilmembers Tim Burgess, Sally Clark, and Tom Rasmussen, who serve on the Councils Planning, Land Use and Neighborhoods Committee, which has oversight responsibilities for ethics and elections issues, including the Seattle Ethics and Elections Commission, were joined by Council President Richard Conlin and Budget Committee Chair Jean Godden in announcing the proposed changes to city law.

Councilmember Sally J. Clark, Chair of the committee, said, "Employees carrying out their job duties should have the full faith and protection of the City behind them. However, when an ethics violation occurs, no matter how well intentioned the employee may have been, the fine should not be passed along to taxpayers."

Councilmember Tim Burgess, Vice-Chair of the committee, and a former Chair of the Ethics and Elections Commission, said, "Our city has a strong reputation for transparency and openness in government. We have extremely strong ethics and elections laws. But I had no idea we had such a gaping loophole that would allow public officials to use taxpayer money to pay a penalty imposed by the ethics commission. We will quickly close that loophole."

Councilmember Tom Rasmussen, member of the oversight committee, said, "The public should not have to pay the fines of public officials who violate our ethics laws. We need to make it clear that all public officials will be responsible for their actions.

Council President Richard Conlin added, The Council takes its responsibility as stewards of the public trust very seriously and Im pleased to make local government more accountable by closing this loophole. This change is a clear demonstration of the City Councils integrity and commitment to uphold that trust.

The Council will be working closely with the Ethics and Elections Commission and the Citys Law Department to introduce the legislation in September.


City Council

Council Connection: News & Updates
Contact us

City of Seattle LogoSeattle City Hall
600 Fourth Ave. 2nd Floor
Seattle, WA 98104
Visiting City Hall

Access to City Hall for Individuals with Disabilities
Mailing Address:
PO Box 34025
Seattle, WA 98124-4025
City Customer Service: 206-684-2489
City Council Front Desk: 206-684-8888
Fax: 206-684-8587
TTY/TDD: 206-233-0025
Listen Line: 206-684-8566
Non -English Language Information