Working for a safe, affordable, vibrant, innovative, and interconnected city.
Learn More Home Page
I want to search within the following: This Department
Follow UsTwitterFacebookFlickrpodcastCouncil Connections blogRSS feeds
Seattle City Council Home Page

Visit Individual
Councilmember Pages

Seattle City Council Sally Bagshaw Rob Johnson Kshama Sawant Lorena González Mike O'Brien Debora Juarez Bruce Harrell Lisa Herbold Tim Burgess
   Home    Contact Us Council Calendar News & Updates Committees & Agendas Current Issues Council Live Research City Laws  About Us 
Council Blogs
& Social Media Links
Meeting Agenda Archive
Meeting Video Archive

Current Issues
Past Issues
Audit Committee
OPA Review Board (OPARB)
Boards, Panels & Commissions
Seattle Transportation Benefit District
Customer Service Bureau

About Us/
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Visiting City Hall
Access to City Hall for Individuals with Disabilities

Full Council Action Summary
Work Program
2012 Action Plan
2011 Annual Report
Council Visitors'
Sign in Sheets
Legislative Records

LIVE! Council Meetings
Seattle Channel
City Inside/Out
Audio Podcast

City Logo

Council News Release

6/19/2006  10:25:00 AM
Frank Video (206) 684-8803

Winner to be announced at Bumbershoot

SEATTLE -Seven Seattle poets have been nominated by the city's literary community, but only one will become the 2006-2007 Seattle Poet Populist. Seattleites can cast their vote (one per person, please!) at until August 21st.

"We're looking forward again to another great year," said City Council President Nick Licata. "Last year, people participated who might not otherwise have ever paid attention to poetry. That's what I love about this - it extends poetry beyond traditional boundaries." Licata launched the Poet Populist program in 1999, inventing it as an alternative to conventional poet laureate titles offered in other places.

This year's seven nominated poets (and their nominators) are Anna Maria Hong by Eleventh Hour Productions, Lynn Coffin by PEN Washington, John Burgess by the Washington Poets Association, Joannie Kervran Stangeland by Rose Alley Press, Jourdan Keith by from the ground up reading series at Richard Hugo House, Barbara Petite by the Cancer Lifeline Reading Series at Third Place Ravenna Books, and Crysta Casey by It's About time Writers Reading Series, also at Ravenna Third Place Books.

The nominated poets will read from their work at the downtown Central Public Library on Sunday, July 16th at 2:00 pm in the Microsoft Auditorium (1000 Fourth Avenue, 1st floor).

The winner of this year's Poet Populist election will be announced on the Literary Stage at Bumbershoot Arts Festival on Saturday, September 2nd at 12:30 pm and will receive a cash prize of $500.

The Seattle Poet Populist program is sponsored by the Seattle Public Library, Council President Nick Licata and Bumbershoot.

For more information, please visit the official Seattle Poet Populist Web site at


City Council

Council Connection: News & Updates
Contact us

City of Seattle LogoSeattle City Hall
600 Fourth Ave. 2nd Floor
Seattle, WA 98104
Visiting City Hall

Access to City Hall for Individuals with Disabilities
Mailing Address:
PO Box 34025
Seattle, WA 98124-4025
City Customer Service: 206-684-2489
City Council Front Desk: 206-684-8888
Fax: 206-684-8587
TTY/TDD: 206-233-0025
Listen Line: 206-684-8566
Non -English Language Information