Working for a safe, affordable, vibrant, innovative, and interconnected city.
Learn More Home Page
I want to search within the following: This Department
Follow UsTwitterFacebookFlickrpodcastCouncil Connections blogRSS feeds
Seattle City Council Home Page

Visit Individual
Councilmember Pages

Seattle City Council Sally Bagshaw Rob Johnson Kshama Sawant Lorena González Mike O'Brien Debora Juarez Bruce Harrell Lisa Herbold Tim Burgess
   Home    Contact Us Council Calendar News & Updates Committees & Agendas Current Issues Council Live Research City Laws  About Us 
Council Blogs
& Social Media Links
Meeting Agenda Archive
Meeting Video Archive

Current Issues
Past Issues
Audit Committee
OPA Review Board (OPARB)
Boards, Panels & Commissions
Seattle Transportation Benefit District
Customer Service Bureau

About Us/
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Visiting City Hall
Access to City Hall for Individuals with Disabilities

Full Council Action Summary
Work Program
2012 Action Plan
2011 Annual Report
Council Visitors'
Sign in Sheets
Legislative Records

LIVE! Council Meetings
Seattle Channel
City Inside/Out
Audio Podcast

City Logo

Council News Release

2/28/2011  10:58:00 AM
FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Dana Robinson Slote, (206) 615-0061

Council President Richard Conlin
Councilmember Sally Bagshaw
Councilmember Tim Burgess
Councilmember Sally J. Clark
Councilmember Jean Godden
Councilmember Bruce Harrell
Councilmember Nick Licata
Councilmember Tom Rasmussen

Seattle City Council approves SR 99 agreements, project moving forward
Council overrides Mayoral veto on SR 99 legislation

SEATTLE Today the Seattle City Council voted 8-1 in favor of C.B. 117101, approving agreements between the City of Seattle and the Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT). This action overrides the Feb. 17 Mayoral veto.

The Council vote took place on the 10-year anniversary of the Nisqually earthquake, an event that served as a wake-up call for the region to develop a replacement solution that balances the critical need for corridor safety, freight mobility and economic vitality, while providing transit growth and an opportunity for a visionary waterfront.

Todays actions are the outcome of a passionate debate that our region has engaged in through these past 10 years. While there have been differing opinions, the contributions of thousands of thoughtful citizens have brought us to this solution, stated Council President Richard Conlin. This Council is proud to confirm the Citys role and commitment to this project.

The agreements ensure that the Seattle Department of Transportation, Seattle Public Utilities and Seattle City Light are active partners on the project while the tunnel contractor finalizes designs and refines their construction approach.

As a community, we have arrived on a common solution and now have agreements that protect our residents and allow us to move the project forward in partnership with the neighborhoods, stakeholders, and our regional and state partners, added Councilmember Sally J. Clark. It is time to focus on the opportunities ahead of us while this project continues.

We are fully committed to safety, mobility, economic vitality, and a waterfront for all, stated Councilmember Tom Rasmussen. We will continue to work with our regional partners, business and community leaders and residents to ensure an accountable and transparent process. Together we will use this opportunity to make this great city even better. This historic project will help establish a visionary waterfront, shaping the future of Seattle and the region.

Please visit the AWV and Seawall Replacement Project and Waterfront Central Planning for more information on project milestones, timeline, and oversight.

Council Connection: News & Updates
Contact us

City of Seattle LogoSeattle City Hall
600 Fourth Ave. 2nd Floor
Seattle, WA 98104
Visiting City Hall

Access to City Hall for Individuals with Disabilities
Mailing Address:
PO Box 34025
Seattle, WA 98124-4025
City Customer Service: 206-684-2489
City Council Front Desk: 206-684-8888
Fax: 206-684-8587
TTY/TDD: 206-233-0025
Listen Line: 206-684-8566
Non -English Language Information