Bobby WorldWide Approved AAA

The Seattle Office for Civil Rights

Ed Murray, Mayor
Patricia Lally, Acting Director

810 Third Avenue, Suite 750, Seattle WA 98104-1627
(206) 684-4500, TTY (206) 684-0332
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday to Friday
Wheel Chair accessible on the Third Avenue entrance

[Mission] [Location/Map] [Press Releases] [Events] [Milestones] [Jobs]

Past Human Rights Day Events

Each year, the Seattle Commission for Human Rights and the Seattle Office for Civil Rights, in conjunction with the United Nation’s Association of Seattle and other community partners, celebrates the signing of the U.N.’s Declaration of Human Rights on December 10, 1948.

Daytime and evening events feature well known keynote speakers. The daytime celebration also includes the awarding of “Distinguished Citizens Awards” to recognize local individuals and organizations’ outstanding work in furthering human rights in Seattle.

The following is a summary of the keynote speakers and awardees at the City of Seattle Human Rights Day events:

1996 Professor Charles Jones
University of WA
Jeri Ware

Living Voices
(the Right to Dream- Civil Rights Movement)
Dr. Mona Lake Jones
Poet Laureate of Seattle

Jan Kumaska
1998 Shirley Wilcher
Deputy Assistant for Federal Contract Compliance
Dept of Labor
Kay Bullitt
1999 Lakota Hardin
Native American Activist
Dr. Hubert Locke
Refugee Women's Alliance
2000 Randall Robinson, Author
President, Trans Africa
Institute for Community Leadership
2001 Loung Ung, author Patricia Champion
2002 Ida Castro (unable to attend)
Former Chairwoman, U.S EEOC
Living Voices: Cesar Chavez presentation
Emma Moreno
Hate Free Zone Campaign WA
2003 Sherman Alexie, Author Gerard John Sheehan
Seattle Indian Services Committee
2004 Dr. Peggy McIntosh Tyree Scott (in memoriam)
Wing Luke Asian Museum
2005 Dr. Joy DeGruy Leary L. Charles Jones
People's Institute Northwest

Back to top of page

[Return to Top of Page]
[Home] [About Us] [What's Illegal Discrimination] [How To File a Complaint] [Rules, Ordinances, Publications] [Commissions] [Related Links] [Disclaimer]

This page was updated on: August 25, 2006, by: Eddie Ferrer