

## **City of Seattle**

**Department of Planning and Development** Diane M. Sugimura, Director

June 3, 2013

John Floberg, Chair Urban Forestry Commission 700 Fifth Avenue, Suite 2748 P.O. Box 94729 Seattle, Wa 98124-3194

Dear Mr. Floberg,

Janet Oslund, one of our DPD Land Use Supervisors, has shared a recent letter with me that she received from the Urban Forestry Commission. I am aware that Janet and her colleague Art Pederson recently gave a presentation to the commission, and your letter was a follow-up to that event. Thank you for your thoughtful recommendations about how DPD could improve our overall permit process with the goal of improving the protection of trees that are intended to be saved during the redevelopment of a site.

In reviewing your recommendations, I'm happy to see that we are already in the process of incorporating some of these suggestions. Both Janet and Art Pederson have been proactively working on a better method of handling tree protection issues, after we'd become aware of specific instances of tree loss during construction. We will revisit the changes that Janet and Art have initiated for both the review and inspections phases of DPD handling, and we'll look at the feasibility of incorporating your other process recommendations.

Several of your suggestions would require the current tree ordinance language be modified in order to be able to implement, so we will share your recommendations with our code development staff for consideration during the upcoming tree ordinance update process.

Thanks again, for taking the time to share your thoughts about how best to protect our existing urban forest.

Respectfully,

Roberta Baker DPD LU Review Manager

cc: Mayor Mike McGinn, Council President Clark, Councilmember Bagshaw, Councilmember Burgess, Councilmember Conlin, Councilmember Godden, Councilmember Harrell, Councilmember Licata, Councilmember Rasmussen, Councilmember O'Brien, Diane Sugimura, Jill Simmons, Marshall Foster, Phyllis Shulman, Michael Jenkins, Meg Moorehead, Christa Valles, Sandra Pinto de Bader, Janet Oslund, Art Pederson, Brennan Staley, Mike Podowski