

NEWS RELEASE

FROM SEATTLE DEPARTMENT OF NEIGHBORHOODS

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Contact: Rebecca Frestedt, 206.684.0226; rebecca.frestedt@seattle.gov Sam Read, 206.727.8808; sam.read@seattle.gov

International Special Review District Board postpones annual election

SEATTLE (November 16, 2020) – Due to the continued impacts of COVID-19, the 2020 International Special Review District (ISRD) Board election is being postponed until further notice. The ISRD Board voted unanimously in favor of postponement at their September 22 virtual meeting.

The Seattle Department of Neighborhoods' (DON) Historic Preservation Program annually hosts an in-person election to facilitate the selection of International Special Review District Board members who have been nominated by the community. All residents, persons who operate businesses, their employees, and property owners of the ISRD, who have registered to vote within 30 days of the ISRD election, are eligible to vote. In 2020, candidates for three of the seven total positions on the ISRD Board were due to appear on the ballot.

The ISRD Board elections have historically been conducted on the third Tuesday in November. However, due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and the large number of individuals that have participated in past ISRD Board elections, Seattle Department of Neighborhoods did not believe they could safely host in-person voting.

All ISRD Board positions are currently filled and, per the City Charter, existing members may continue to serve until their replacements are selected. This decision to delay the 2020 ISRD Board election will not impact the Board's ability to sustain meeting quorums or issue decisions.

The special character of the Chinatown International District is recognized and protected by City Ordinance. In 1973, the International Special Review District Board was created to preserve, protect, and enhance the cultural, economic, and historical qualities of the District. The Board is made up of seven members - five elected by the Chinatown International District community and two appointed by the Mayor. Board members' terms are for two years, and members may serve up to two consecutive terms. To learn more about the election and the International Special Review District, please visit <u>seattle.gov/neighborhoods/preservation/id.htm/.</u>

The current board members are Matt Chan, Matt Fujimoto, Faye Hong, Sergio Legon-Talamoni, Russ Williams, Tanya Woo, and Andy Yip.

###

The International Special Review District is coordinated by the Seattle Department of Neighborhoods <u><i>Historic Preservation Program.</u>